Teach English

Lots of stuff has happened in the past couple of days.  My roommate (who agreed to living with me through July) has informed me that she’s moving out in January.  My mom came to clean the apartment, but somehow it ended up messier when she left.  My boyfriend bought me a fantastic fossil watch.  The last thing is fantastic, but the other two…not so much.  However, the thing that’s driving me now is my new plan to get TEFL certification so that I can teach English in another country.

If you don’t already know, TEFL stands for the Teaching of English as a Foreign Language.  It’s equivalent is TESOL (Teaching of English to Speakers of Other Languages).  These types of programs are implemented in the United States most commonly for international students wishing to study at universities in the US, but most programs looking for TEFL certified teachers are in foreign countries. So the first obvious benefit to being TEFL certified is job security.  Someone, somewhere is always going to want to be learning English.  I’m not saying it to be a bigot or say that English is THE language, but it’s a language that people are always trying to learn whether it be a business man or a kid.  The second benefit is a GREAT reason to travel the world.  For the past year, I’ve been seriously thinking about going somewhere in Latin or South America.  I’m currently learning Spanish and hopefully becoming more and more fluent, but realistically I know that until I go to a Spanish-speaking country, true fluency is never going to happen.  So to me, TEFL certification would enable me to secure a teaching position which would then let me support myself while I brush up on my Spanish.

The great thing about TEFL certification is that there are online certification courses with a variety of options.  Online is a fantastic option for me because I’m a busy student that works two jobs.  I don’t really have time to do a physical class (not to mention they are generally more expensive).  If I chose to participate in an online course for TEFL certification I could easily start it over the winter break when I could devote significant amounts of time to it before I start school again.  If all goes well, I could be certified by summer so that I could go off to Chile, Peru, Costa Rica, or wherever!

Sounds like a plan to me!

One thought on “Teach English

  1. Pingback: How to Maintain Professional Conduct as an EFL Teacher « GREAT MENTOR

Leave a Reply

